Dumb Football Rules and Procedures

 

I don’t think I will watch another NFL game until they change their inane overtime rules. I’m not a sore loser, because I didn’t have a favorite team in the Super Bowl. I honestly didn’t care which team won. I might be missing something here, but when only one team, the winner of a ‘coin toss’?, has an opportunity to drive down the field and win the game, without the other team having an opportunity, doesn’t make any sense to me. Great game, but the outcome seems empty and unfinished. An overtime should be an overtime, period; certainly not decided by the winner of a coin toss. IMHO, the way it’s done is just plain dumb. So, I don’t wish to watch a game that is controlled by stupid people. NFL: change the OT format and I might be a fan again, until then, seeya…………
The NFL’s OT format isn’t the only senseless thing that’s done in football; bringing the chain out to measure for a first down is equally silly. They don’t bring the chain out, and mark it, to begin the series of downs, it’s eye-balled, sight-lined. When they set the down marker pole, it’s probably off by at least an inch or two; it most certainly isn’t precise. If it isn’t precise at the beginning of the series of downs, they can’t possibly get a precise measurement, period.